Resolutions!

One week into the new year and I’ve finally dug myself out of the haze that was the holidays and have resolved myself to make a few changes in 2016.

But my resolutions aren’t to quit a bad habit or start a new health regimen (although I can think of a few changes in those areas that I need to make).

COMPETITION

I straight up “borrowed” this graphic from one of my favorite blogs to follow called The Jungalow by LA based designer Justina Blakeney. She is one of many awesome bloggers I aspire to emulate. 

Instead, I’m resolving to live my life in its truest sense. To allow myself to be free, to be true. What does that mean for me? It means I may start a new project in January and not finish it until June, and that’s okay. Or I may fail several times at an attempt to try something new (like start a vegetable garden that seems like an algebraic equation to me), and that’s okay. Or that I make the first step in fulfilling my dream of freedom to create beautiful things everyday; even if that step is the tiniest, itty-bittiest step. That’s okay.

What I’m promising to myself in 2016 is to try, and to not beat myself over the head if things don’t turn out exactly the way I planned. The world puts enough pressure on us to look, feel and act a particular way for me to start regulating how I measure my self imposed standards of success or failure.

There’s no need to put pressure on myself to have it all figured out today what my plans are for 2016, except that I will allow myself freedom to be my truest self. I encourage you to do the same!

 

 

Leave a comment